Sign outside a public building Sign outside a public building

Panel of counsel

Our panel of counsel consists of our preferred providers of external legal services, including representation and advice.

These services support our advisory, influencing, regulatory and enforcement work across the equality and human rights spheres, including strategic litigation in domestic and European courts.

Panel members were appointed following an open, robust and transparent competition.

Equality and Human Rights Commission’s panel of counsel: England and Wales

  • Robin Allen QC: Cloisters
  • Katherine Apps: 39 Essex Chambers
  • Nick Armstrong: Matrix
  • Alex Bailin QC: Matrix
  • Katharine Beattie: 1 Crown Office Row
  • Sasha Blackmore: Landmark
  • Paul Bowen QC: Brick Court
  • Ulele Burnham: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Lisa Busch QC: Cornerstone
  • Victoria Butler-Cole: 39 Essex Chambers
  • Chris Buttler: Matrix
  • Monica Carss-Frisk QC: Blackstone
  • Catherine Casserley: Cloisters
  • Martin Chamberlain QC: Brick Court
  • Jason Coppel QC: 11KBW
  • Thomas Cross: 11KBW
  • Raj Desai: Matrix
  • Richard Drabble: QC: Landmark
  • Paul Epstein QC: Cloisters
  • Michael Ford QC: Old Square
  • Danny Friedman QC: Matrix
  • Kate Gallafent QC: Blackstone
  • Caoilfhionn Gallagher: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Sarah Hannett: Matrix
  • Bethan Harris: Garden Court
  • Stephanie Harrison QC: Garden Court
  • Dr Thomas Hickman: Blackstone
  • Henrietta Hill QC: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Raza Husain QC: Matrix
  • Sara Ibrahim: 3 Hare Court
  • Ben Jaffey: Blackstone
  • Schona Jolly QC: Cloisters
  • Satvinder Juss: 3 Hare Court
  • Nathalie Lieven QC: Blackstone
  • David Lock QC: Landmark
  • Shu Shin Luh: Garden Court
  • Joseph Markus: Garden Court North
  • David Massarella: Cloisters
  • Aileen McColgan: 11KBW
  • Laura McNair-Wilson: Littleton
  • Catherine Meredith: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Eric Metcalfe: Monkton
  • Christopher Milsom: Cloisters
  • David Mitchell: Ely Place
  • Karon Monaghan QC: Matrix
  • Helen Mountfield QC: Matrix
  • Declan O'Dempsey: Cloisters
  • Aidan O'Neill QC: Matrix
  • Alison Pickup: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Marcus Pilgerstorfer: 11KBW
  • Jason Pobjoy: Blackstone
  • James Robottom: 7 Bedford Row
  • Fiona Scolding: Outer Temple
  • Clive Sheldon QC: 11KBW
  • Tariq Sadiq: Temple Garden
  • Hugh Southey QC: Matrix
  • Martha Spurrier: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Dan Squires QC: Matrix
  • David Stephenson: Doughty Street
  • Karen Steyn QC: 11KBW
  • Adam Wagner: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Martin Westgate QC: Doughty Street Chambers
  • Marc Willers QC: Garden Court
  • David Wolfe QC: Matrix

Equality and Human Rights Commission’s panel of counsel: Scotland

  • Dorothy Bain QC: Ampersand
  • Scott Blair: Terra Firma Chambers
  • Jonathan Mitchell QC: Arnot Manderson Advocates
  • Aidan O'Neill QC: Ampersand
  • Kay Springham QC: Compass Chambers
  • Dan Byrne: Axiom Advocates
  • David Hay: Westwater Advocates
  • Julius Komorowski: Terra Firma Chambers
  • John McGregor: Axiom Advocates
  • Kenneth McGuire: Westwater Advocates
  • Christine O'Neill: Brodies LLP
  • Catherine Smith: Arnot Manderson Advocates
  • Laura-Anne van der Westhuizen: Ampersand
  • Stephen Winter: Terra Firma Chambers
  • Alice Stobart: Ampersand
  • Juliette Casey: Westwater Advocates

All counsel who applied to join the panel were invited to complete an equality monitoring form. Responses are summarised in an Excel Document for download here: Panel of counsel appointments 2015: Equality monitoring data.

The panel will operate as a framework agreement until no later than 1 March 2019.

We are currently considering applications to join our new panel from 1 March 2019. Applications for this are now closed. 

Last updated: 18 Feb 2019