EU8 migrants in Scotland: 2011 Census analysis summary

Research Report

First published: 24 Nov 2016

Thumbnail of report front cover

This short paper summarises research commissioned by the Equality and Human Rights Commission and conducted by Dr Marina Shapira and Dr Monika Wilinska of the School of Applied Social Science, University of Stirling. This research was compiled from an analysis of tables produced by the National Records of Scotland and some specially commissioned tables.

This paper focuses on EU8 migrants living in Scotland and provides an overview of their demography, socio-economic status, housing, education and health. Although dated, the 2011 Census remains the most authoritative source of information on EU8 migrants.

EU8 migrants are those who entered Scotland after the enlargement of the European Union (EU) in 2004. The EU8 countries are:

  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Poland
  • Czech Republic
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Hungary

Download as PDF Download as Word